DAMAN’s Music Round-up of the Month (March 2023)

With quite a few long-awaited releases finally coming out, this 2023 is a great period for music enthusiasts. From Sam Smith to Korean phenomenon Jimin of BTS, we have compiled some of our favorite music releases for early 2023. Let’s hear them all!

Miley Cyrus – “Endless Summer Vacation”

Miley Cyrus – “River”

The singer’s eighth album became a worldwide smash after its lead single “Flowers” tops the Billboard Hot 100 and both Billboard Global charts for six weeks and became the biggest hit of her career. The album is split into two sides, The AM representing the morning time with a lot of buzz and energy, and The PM represents a slinky seediness and kind of grime but still in glamor. In addition to “Flowers,” the full-length album also contains the second single “River” which has been released this March.

Paramore – “This Is Why”

Paramore – “Running Out Of Time”
After five years since their last studio album Paramore finally released their album titled “This Is Why.” Making this album one of the most anticipated releases of 2023. The album is the band’s effort to its rock roots and a little bit of a departure from the band’s synth-pop and new-wave-infused 2017. Paramore worked again with Carlos De la Garza, who produced the band’s self-titled album, “After Laughter” and GRAMMY-winning mixing engineer Manny Marroquin.

Gorillaz – “Cracker Island”

Gorillaz – “Cracker Island” ft. Thundercat

The latest album of Gorillaz has been released with a total of 10 tracks, including “Cracker Island” by Thundercat, “Oil” by Stevie Nicks, “New Gold” by Romye Robinson and Tame Impala. “Cracker Island” will be Gorillaz’ eighth studio album, following the release of “Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez” in 2020. Noodle, the band’s guitarist, described their new album as the sound of transformation and the collective chorus. The Cracker Island is produced by eight time Grammy Award-winning producer, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Greg Kurstin, along with Gorillaz and Remi Kabaka Jr.

Jimin – “FACE”

Jimin – “Set Me Free Pt.2”

BTS member and DA MAN Magazine cover gentleman Jimin has released a new solo song titled “Set Me Free Pt.2”. This song will be on the first track of his upcoming debut solo album titled ‘FACE’. We can hear snappy hip-hop drums and magnificent Auto-Tuned vocals as instrumentation inside the arrangement. Released through HYBE LABELS, the music video directed by Oui Kim showcases Jimin in the center as numerous dancers perform magnificently choreographed moves in a flashy display set.

Sam Smith – “Gloria”

Sam Smith – “I’m Not Here To Make Friends”

Sam Smith latest album begins with the song “Unholy” featuring Kim Petras, which was successful on the charts, coming in second on the Billboard Hot 100. You can listen to the 13-track album, which includes songs like “Love Me More,” “Gimme,” “Perfect,” and the perfect closing song, “Who We Love” which features Ed Sheeran. For Smith, this album represents his emotional, sexual, spiritual freedom and he felt ‘overjoyed’ to share details of the album. Floria Sigismondi (The Runaways, David Bowie, Christina Aguilera) directed the music video, which was choreographed by the French dance group (LA) HOrdE.